The first event of the year for the very popular TurboDirect SA Time Attack ZA Series. The Dyno Day was a huge success

The first event of the year for the very popular TurboDirect SA Time Attack ZA Series. The Dyno Day was a huge success

A very clever unique motoring series that is hugely successful

The first TurboDirect SA Time Attack ZA event of the year turned out to be a huge success with over 78 entries who all turned up on the day with some of the most stunning performance cars in the country.“I have never seen so many great looking hi performance cars turn out for an event of this nature, the cars were immaculate, the power plants looked like they had been prepared by a works race team factory,” said Legendary motoring journalist and commentator Roger Mc Cleery. I was hugely impressed with the concept of this event, how it all works, how popular it was and well supported with over 78 entries on the day, along with a large number of spectators. All car owners and drivers spoke highly of the series as it was all time related events and not head to head racing, not to mention the one reason why the guys created the series to keep racing safe and off the public streets,” said a very impressed Mc Cleery.  

The organizers and sponsors Hilton Swart Chairman of the Time Attack ZA Series and the overall sponsor Chris Kambouris founder/owner and Managing Director of Turbo Direct SA. Did an outstanding job and this series could not be run by two better and very knowledgeable people said Mc Cleery after an interview with them at the event.The organizers for the Dyno Day at TurboDirect SA’s head office did a superb professional job, with all the Dyno testing, equipment, the testing team, parking, traffic control and feeding all the drivers, teams and spectators, everything ran exceptionally well.

“The rules and Regulations of the Dyno Day is we weigh all the cars then test them and put them in to the various power to weight category classes, results are around performance, the other events are all time related all drivers score points over the year for these events and winners are announced at the end of the year. We very grateful to have Chris Kambouris of TurboDirect SA on board as a sponsor this year as he certainly knows the performance business and he is one of the unique few hands on guys,” said Hilton Swart.

The star of the show was Hein Moller with his Audi S7 that was just too powerful to be contained by the dyno. Top performers had to go to the following guys, with the best of the day going to a very impressive Audi RS3 sedan of Giovanni Fantinwith results of 489.5kw and 799nm. Next was RudiVan Niekerk's beautiful supercharged Audi RS4 Sedan with results of 361.6kw and 488nm. Third best performer of the day was another Audi in the form of AshlinSingh's Audi 8P RS3 putting out 262kw 601nm. The top 3 Series Competitors were Giovanni Fantin followed by Chett Meyerand his Subaru WRX STi, with figures of 247.8kw and 420nm, and then there was Charles Fowlds in another Subaru WRX STi putting out 241.6kw and 415nm.