International Passion for Speed events at Zwartkops set to excite

International Passion for Speed events at Zwartkops set to excite

More information has become available about this year's Passion for Speed motorsport extravaganza at the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on February 1, 2 and 3.

The international event, to be held for the 18th time, will highlight four periods of motorsport, involving more than 300 cars and some 100 motorcycles.

This will range from Saloon Car Legends from the 1960s, via Sports Racing Prototypes of the 1970s, through classic production cars of the eighties, to the Extreme Supercar icons of today.  

On centre stage will be two races for Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars, where some of South Africa's top racers will take on a visiting team of Netherlands competitors in heavy metal V8-powered vehicles.

Combined entries at this stage are maestro Sarel van der Merwe in a Ford Galaxie, current South African Touring Car champion Michael Stephen in a Plymouth Barracuda, Hennie Groenewald (Plymouth Fury), Peter Lindenberg (Shelby Mustang), Lee Thompson (Ford Galaxie), Polo Cup Champion Jeff Kruger (Chevrolet Chevelle), Jonathan du Toit (Chevrolet Nova), Oliver Broome (Ford Mustang) and Mark du Toit (Ford Fairlane).

The Dutch contingent will comprise of Michiel Campagne (Ford Galaxie), Armand Adriaans (Chevrolet Bel Air), Frans van Maarschalkerwaart, Harmen van Putten and others yet to be named.

A full entry will take to the tarmac in the races for SKF Pre-1966 Under Two-litre class, with competing vehicles to include Lotus Cortinas, Alfa Romeo GTs, Volvo 122S models, BMW 2002i entries, Mini Coopers and Alfa Guilias.

To continue the theme will be races for SKF Pre-1966 LITTLE Giants, including Mini Coopers, a Ford Consul, Alfa GT’s, Guilias, Guilettas, Austin Healey Sprites. GSM Darts, MGBs, MGAs, a Lotus 23B, a Porsche 356A, Ford Anglias, a Protea Ford and a Sunbeam Alpine.

At the other end of the scale, current top motorsport technology will be on show in races for G&H Transport Extreme Supercars.

Top contenders should be Charl Arangies (Aston Martin Vantage V12), Franco Scribante (Porsche 997 Turbo), Jonathan Du Toit (Ferrari F430), Jonathan Shenkman (Lamborghini Gallardo), Nicky Dicks (Porsche 99t GT3), Dino Scribante (Porsche 99T), Gianni Giannoccaro (Lamborghini Gallardo), Dawie Olivier (BMW M3 Turbo), Greg Parton (Lamborghini Huracan) and Simon Murray (Lamborghini GT3).

There will also be races for Pre’1968 Le Mans Sebring Cars, International Sports Prototypes of the 1970s, Pre-1980 Classic Production Cars, plus Single Seaters from the United Kingdom.

Tickets are available at R200 for adults and R130 per student, with kids under the age of 12 to go in for free.

Tickets can be obtained from the Zwartkops office (012 384 2299) or the itickets.co.za website.

Click to view ACTIONaBr now!

Subscribe to the aBrHotwire Newsletter Today

Automotive Export Manual 2019