Toyota wins coveted #CarsAwards Brand Of The Year for record 3rd time

Toyota wins coveted #CarsAwards Brand Of The Year for record 3rd time
  • Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4x4 Legend Auto wins Leisure Double Cab category
  • Fortuner 2.8 GD-6 4x4 VX Auto wins Adventure SUV category
  • RAV4 2.0 AWD GX-R wins Family Car category
  • C-HR 1.2T Luxury wins Crossover category
  • Starlet 1.4 XR wins Budget Car category

Toyota South Africa Motors (TSAM) has become the first local automotive manufacturer to win Cars.co.za’s prestigious Brand of the Year for a record third time. TSAM had previously clinched the inaugural Brand of the Year category in 2016, followed by another win in 2019. To crown it all, this year Toyota also walked away with five product category wins for Hilux, Fortuner, RAV4, C-HR and Starlet.

Unlike product categories, which are decided by a combination of judges’ scores and consumer data, the #CarsAwards Brand of the Year accolade is determined entirely by market data and the findings of the survey – including, but not limited to, the brands’ respective sales and after-sales service ratings.

Commenting on Toyota’s success TSAM’s Senior Vice President of Sales and Marketing Leon Theron says: “We are delighted to accept the #CarsAwards Brand of the Year trophy as well as the five others for product categories. As a company that is entirely committed to providing best-in-class solutions for our customers, we are truly pleased that the market we are serving is acknowledging our efforts. We therefore extend our gratitude to our customers, without whom, no accolade would be possible.”

Arguably one of South Africa’s most premier automotive awards programmes, the Cars.co.za Consumer Awards (powered by WesBank), have become a highlight on the automotive calendar since the inaugural event in 2016. This year’s event, also marking the sixth instalment, could not be staged live due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. It was however broadcast on DStv’s Motorsport HD Channel 215 (repeats to air on DStv’s 1Magic channel (103) at 21:30 on February 20, as well as at 15:30 and 22:30 on February 23 and 25).